Inicial > boca no trombone > Wikipedia appeal faces – stop it now!

Wikipedia appeal faces – stop it now!

Ok. There is no way we can escape it. I am talking about Wikipedia. It is everywhere, all the time. It is worse and much more far reaching than big brother.

The reality is simple. Everyone uses Wikipedia. We rely on it for almost everything. It is no surprise, since in nine out of ten google search result pages Wikipedia is the first result. I myself use it all the time. Although I cannot stress enough how important it is to filter out every piece of information you read there and verify its authenticity against more reliable sources. Yes, didn’t you know? Wikipedia is not reliable. Very handy though. 😉

And now I come to the complaint that gave the spark for this post: do we really need to be looking at those wikipedia-appeal-faces everytime we want to search it for some [un]reliable piece of information?

This is my one and only complaint. Why do I have to keep looking at those happy faces of the Wikipedia appeal all the time? That is the most annoying thing that I can think of these days. Dear Jimmy Wales, I really think it is wonderful that you decided to create Wikipedia without any advertisement and all and that you now need money to keep your 679 servers going and your very few 95 employees happy, but let us be frank: your face on every wikipedia page is not helping. It is annoying. Think of something else. I don’t want to look at your face or any of your helpers every time I click on a Wikipedia link. No sir! Thank you. I repeat: IT IS ANNOYING! It is worse than advertisement! And we all know that your pockets are bright full with your mug on every page, but that is another story…

Ok. Just to end this: Dear Wikipedia, pardon my French, but @^*%*#!. I decided not to click on any Wikipedia link or even say good things about it until that most annoying thing is off and through. If you are annoyed with this thing as much as I am, join me here and say:

Stop wikipedia-appeal-faces now!

Cheers!

  1. Nenhum comentário ainda.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Deixe um comentário